Hello. No idea what I'm doing.

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Emma, 10 August 2021.

1. Emma

Emma Member Capri Power Member

Hiya!
    Gotta preface this with, I've never worked on a car before. Not tinkered. Nothing. But fuck I'm in love and watching all these auctions go by, despite a sneaking feeling that ebay prices are a rip off.

So I thought I'd say hello, and ask just how immensly stupid would I be, to buy one of those projects that needs work and just try to learn as I go? I like learning. And tinkering with "not car" things, just... yeah.

So, how far do you reckon 3grand, no tools, no space, no experience and a pinch of misplaced optimisim can go? xD

2. Crash & Burn

Crash & Burn Registered Capri Power Member

Drives:
    '77 Mk II JPS '76 Mk II JPS
    Only a few of us know what we're doing, and we keep it a big secret who they are. :)
    EBAy prices are a rip. Spend time watching on here and getting familiar with things for free, save your money for when you're ready. You'll get an idea about tools you'll need and such. As for how immensely stupid, hard to say, without knowing if it's on an American scale of immenseness, a British scale, or a biblical scale. Hard because a lot of people close to us have noticed we don't know what we're doing, and they call us immensely stupid. ;)

Last edited: 10 August 2021
  3. Emma

British going on biblical probably ;D Ah well, at least I'll fit in. Thought as much think I'll hold off for a month or 2 until I've a better grasp of what goes for what price wise. Come to think of it that give me some time to convince the other half how much of a brilliant plan this is! Win-win :D

4. Crash & Burn

Drives: