Help Identifying this old Capri.

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by TTF, 10 December 2020.

1. TTF

TTF New Member Capri Power Member

Drives:
    My Dug mental
    Hey folks, newbie here - long time fan of the Capri.

Can anyone help Identify this Capri? I'm looking to find (or build) a Scale Model of it as a gift for a friend. The guy driving it was her father who passed away a few years back. This photo must have been late 70s early 80s. Screenshot_20201210_014632.jpg Screenshot_20201210_013120.jpg

I think it's some kind of GL/Ghia model, possibly a 2.0 or 2.3, can't really see from the image? Mk II yeah?

I think the reg plates are from the Netherlands, but might be British Army base issue?

AFC 8123 (?)

Any hints would be hugely appreciated.

If I could find the actual car that would be cool, but would be very happy just knowing exactly which model it is.

Cheeeeers!

2. classiccapri

classiccapri Registered Capri Power Member

Drives:
    On the hunt for a new
    2.0 GL "mk2"

Cant find the reg on the standard vwhicke database here in the UK.

Im sure there will be a car on here that has the same spec/colour..

TTF likes this.
  3. SIDEWAYS 3.0 GHIA

SIDEWAYS 3.0 GHIA Registered Capri Power Member

Drives:
    MK3 STRATOS SILVER 3.0 GHIA
    If it was on military plates, it will not exist, the system is there to let the police force know it belongs to a forces person and when it goes back to the owners country it is de registered.

But there is an eBay seller Koskin, that l am sure if you message him, from the Netherlands, that will be able to shed a bit more light on the registration.

TTF likes this.
  4. Not_Anumber

Not_Anumber Registered Capri Power Member

Drives:
    1983 2.8i 5 speed. 2x previous Capris.
    It looks like standard GL Mk2 spec with the addition of the Ghia style metal/ plastic trim strip, a sunroof and a brown vinyl roof.